If you and God were making cookies..

What would it be like to be making cookies with God?

Just imagine, God as a person (picture Him however you like) and there you are, both standing there in the kitchen. Flour on the counters, oven warming the room and the smell of fresh-baked cookies creating the comfortable and personal atmosphere.

To think of being in that situation, first off, makes me wanna cry. I’m a crier. I cry when Im happy, when I’m sad, when I’m angry, confused, overwhelmed, nervous etc.To be so tangibly close to the one who’s changed my whole life.. I think I would first have to deal with the ” I can’t believe we’re in the same room!” aspect. Then.. what to say…where to start?

As I think about one of the first thing that pops into my mind, and that it might just spill out of my mouth, I’m reminded that even though God has done so much in my life, I still hurt and still question why. God truly has healed and dealt with so much in my life, but that doesn’t mean my questions were answered. And knowing God, I don’t know if He’d give me the crystal clear answer that I think I want. He might  respond with “Why do you need to know?” or ” You have not been given anything that you cannot handle, nor anything that I cannot use to bring Me glory”.. or something like that. UGH… which is true of course.  I love to think of having time like that with God because He is THAT real. I just don’t SEE Him like that. God is with me when Im baking cookies, or riding in the car and is the third person when Im having coffee with a friend. Why would I ever think otherwise? I want to demolish the limited view of God as the untouchable, way up in the sky, separated ” it”. God touches me, He is with me, and draws me close to Him every time I let Him. Can you just imagine what our lives would look like if we REALLY responded and communicated with God as if He was right there with us, in the room, and we could talk to Him like any other person? What would you say?

OR!!!!….

What would our worship time at Church look like? What if, when the people gather, God physically walks in the room, sits on the throne prepared for Him, and we just worship Him. Seriously!! THINK ABOUT IT! I think it would look A LOT different. I don’t know that we’d be in such a hurry to get to the sermon, or even so concerned about every note being perfect or even care what we look like to anyone else in the room. And you know what drives me crazy, is that THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS! God comes, and sits on a throne that we prepare for Him, but since we don’t see it with our physical eyes, it’s as if it doesn’t happen. Oh how my heart breaks when I see people not acknowledging the Lord and using Him as an EXCUSE to gather instead of the REASON we gather. I pray for a revelation of the Presence of the Lord in our meetings and homes, our conversations and our lives.

Leave a Reply

